Weekend 11: Pisa & Pizza, Italia Part I!

I left Paris cold and raining on Friday morning after only 4 hours of sleep, due to allowing myself a little bit of Halloween fun the previous night. Since I was flying on a small, budget airline, I had to take a bus outside of Paris to one of the smaller airports. It seemed as though the moment the plane touched down in Pisa I started sweating. A few days prior to leaving, I decided to spend the day in Pisa, because why not? I didn’t see the point in being there so early, with the city being so accessible from the airport, and not going to at least see the leaning tower for the afternoon before taking the bus to Florence. I took the bus from the airport to the city train station, where I left my bag at the luggage check and then headed in the direction of the Piazza del Duomo. I took my time, wandering where I wanted and enjoying the sun. I immediately regretted my last-minute decision to not bring my sunglasses. Everything about Italy is warm; the colors, the light, the people. It’s such a refreshing change from the coldness of Paris.

Pisa_1 Pisa_4 Pisa_3 Pisa_2

Pisa_8 Pisa_7 Pisa_9 Pisa_10 Pisa_11 Pisa_12 Pisa_15 Pisa_14 Pisa_13

After wandering, I realized how hungry I was. However, I also didn’t have enough cash on me to buy a meal, and I had passed up several ATMs. Just as I approached the Piazza, I decided I needed to backtrack to find an ATM fast because I was so hungry. This took up a good half hour at least, which combined with the heat was frustrating. Once I finally found a working ATM, I headed back to a place I saw with a view of the leaning tower and an amazing deal of pizza, fries, and a drink for 7 euros (unheard of in Paris). The pizza was delicious, and it was the first pizza I’ve had in Europe that I could actually eat with a fork and knife (there’s no such thing as finger food in Europe)!

My first Italian pizza!!

My first Italian pizza!!

Pisa_16 Pisa_17

After eating, I walked around the Piazza for a while and then got a ticket to go into the cathedral and the baptistery. I initially wanted to climb the leaning tower, but then decided it was getting too late since the line was pretty long.

 Pisa_23 Pisa_21 Pisa_19 Pisa_24 Pisa_30 Pisa_29 Pisa_28 Pisa_27 Pisa_25 Pisa_32

Italian cathedrals are soooo very different from French cathedrals, or really any of the Northern European cathedrals that I’ve been in. I think I prefer the Northern ones, but of course these are impressive in their own right. For one, they are massive. This was by far the largest cathedral I’ve ever been in. They are also relatively plain inside compared to Northern Cathedrals, which spare no centimeter of wall, floor, or ceiling from decoration. Italian cathedrals also have much smaller stained glass windows. The outsides are decorated in colorful patterns, but the overall whiteness of it all is still very present. I think these photographs make it seem more decorative than it is, probably because that’s what I ended up being most interested in! Also, I don’t think any of these properly convey how massive it is. Just go there for yourself and see!

Pisa_56

Pisa_36Pisa_35Pisa_33 Pisa_37Pisa_39Pisa_38 Pisa_45Pisa_44Pisa_42Pisa_41Pisa_40 Pisa_49Pisa_47 Pisa_54Pisa_50Pisa_39 

A reliquary with a human skull!

A reliquary with a human skull!

I didn’t know what to expect in the baptistery, since I’d never been in one before. It’s pretty plain, but there were two things that made it worth it. One, if you go to the top level, one of the windows has part of the screen cut out so you can take a photograph looking directly at the cathedral, with the leaning tower in the background. And two, while I was in there, a woman stood in the middle on the lower level and started vocalizing, and you could hear it echo throughout the baptistery. It was haunting.

Pisa_57 Pisa_61 Pisa_58 Pisa_59 Pisa_60

After that, I headed back to the train station to get my bag and then take a bus to the airport to take a bus to Florence.

Pisa_66

Why do they even have this sign?

Pisa_64 Pisa_65Pisa_68 Pisa_69 Pisa_71 Pisa_74 Pisa_72 Pisa_75

By the time I got to Florence, it was dark and I was pretty tired. I just settled in and had a relaxing night before going to sleep early. Stay tuned for Italia Part II: Firenze!

One thought on “Weekend 11: Pisa & Pizza, Italia Part I!

  1. Dear Em,
    Great to hear about your amazing journey of discovery! That last picture of the bridge is my favorite. The colors are amazing. Hope you have a great Thanksgiving. Xoxo, Aunt Sue

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.